Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lceh_gw

Disguise a concrete well cover with a thin hypertufa "millstone"?

lceh
10 years ago

We have a 36" diameter concrete well cover right next to the house and path, and it's boring and ugly. I've racked my brain for several years to think how I can disguise it but I can't come up with anything. I've seen lots of hypertufa millstone projects, and it suddenly occurred to me that maybe I could disguise it as a millstone. Would it work to put a thin coat of hypertufa on it and carve grooves to make a faux-millstone that still allows the cover to be lifted off if the well needs to be serviced? How thick of a "skim coat" of hypertufa would that require? I'd have to fake the hole in the center but perhaps an indentation would be good enough. Has anyone done this? I'd love any and all advice, I am a newbie but I'm excited about the possibility of dealing with this ugly thing in an attractive way.

Comments (3)

• billie_ann
    10 years ago

Thanks for being smart enough to post what zone you are in. People don't realize that it helps in giving suggestions.

I've never done this but have added a thick covering to a friend's retaining wall. It can be done but don't know how well it would hold up. It can also add considerable weight depending on the mix you use. If the cover has to be removed there's the possibility of cracking. I thought maybe tiles in your zone but that could have a cracking problem if you have to remove cover. I think even weather (after the Winter cold we've had this year in southern US) could cause tiles to pop off in your zone.