Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
monomer

Why does hypertufa crack?

monomer
10 years ago

I've been making hypertufa pots and other objects for two years now and have noticed that some of them seem to suddenly develop cracks months after they've been made. I've done internet searches and can find very little on hypertufa pots cracking... surely this must be an issue within the hobby. I would venture that approx. 10-15% of our pots have small cracks... and nearly always in the same places. They all start at the top lip and proceed down, never any other places... most are barely visible and only go down an inch or two. On the square shaped pots its always mid-way and never found near a corner... almost always in a pair of cracks found on opposite sides across from either other and the other two perpendicular sides remain crack free... I think this is because the two cracks on opposing sides release the stresses. These cracks appear far less frequently on round shaped pots and have yet to appear on any solid projects I've made. Though these cracks can show up at anytime, more often they appear after several months, a day or two after a thorough watering. Other pots from the same batch will not have cracks which tends to have me believe its not so much recipe/ingredient related nor is it curing related. The way I see it is cracks are visual proof there are tensile forces at work at the top of these pots and since cement is known to have a deal of compressive strength but almost no tensile strength, it will crack under relatively little tensile stress regardless of the aggregate used. Sand and gravel only add to concrete's compressive strength and do nothing for its tensile and shear strength... that's why rebar or wire mesh is added, to provide the tensile and shear strength needed in structural applications where shear and tensile forces will be a factor. All perlite does is reduce compressive strength and adds nothing to tensile properties... and peat, like most organi