Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bigoledude

I've been lurking on and off for a while.

bigoledude
10 years ago

I'm not new to the GardenWeb forums, but I am new to hypertufa.

I did a search and while searching, I started reading other great stuff that I hadn't even thought about yet! Just tonight, I got caught-up, spending three hours reading on issues that I'm certainly gonna need to know in order to make decent hypertufa projects. But still, I never came across the answer to my original search question.

My question was "how do I get that really rough natural stone finish on the outside surface of my projects"?

My favourite project with the rough surface was the pieces that look like very rough stones with crevices in them. The maker planted small succulents in the crevices of these projects. I believe they were made to either set on a table-top or could be hung. How do you achieve that very rough look in the tufa.

I read many pages of great material but could not find out how to get that rough-rock finish with tufa.

This post was edited by bigoledude on Tue, Apr 30, 13 at 19:09

Comments (24)

• themes
    10 years ago

trial and error. Get your hands dirty it's how I learned. You will learn more then any reading or advice.

• ronh4
    10 years ago

One suggestion would be to take a screwdriver and score the outside edge in a particular way, grab your wire brush and make it real. Get your hands dirty is the best way.

• bigoledude
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the screwdriver advice Ron.

Sometimes a little advice is better than "trial-n-error". Like in skydiving for instance. And, I spent over 40 years getting my hands dirty! But, I needed a little schooling/advice along the way, to eventually become a master-machinist. And, I really enjoyed training many young men along the way with help and advice so they could avoid the mistakes I made.