Return to the Hypertufa Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My first leave

Posted by sereneseen z4 IA (My Page) on
Wed, May 24, 06 at 18:48

I finished making my first leave this past weekend. I cast a rhubarb leave last fall, made a silicone mold, and then filled the mold with quickwall and fortifier. Yep, it sat all winter bare & naked. I finally got around to painting it. I was intimidated by the painting part. It's my first attempt at painting anything so you can see why it sat unpainted for six months.

SereneSeen

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My first leave

• Posted by ltd123 6A southern Ind (My Page) on
    Wed, May 24, 06 at 19:36

well, aren't you thrilled that you finally painted it!! It turned out great. You must be a "natural" at this.
Congratulations,
Laura

o

Sereneseen: Your leaf looks great...looks like a real leaf..Good Job.I'd say your a natural at it as well..:)

o

Your leaf turned out BEAUTIFUL!!!
Beware - it's addicting!
Laurel

o

Sereneseen
You leaf looks lovely!!!
Debbie

o

Thanks for all the wonderful comments. Laurel, I think you're right that it's addicting. I'm on the hunt for other leaves. I sent this same picture to my sister and she wants me to show her how to make one when I visit her this summer. Finding interesting leaves in this area will be a difficult task since nothing exotic can grow in my zone, darn.

Again, thanks for the comments. It's back to tufa'ing for now.

SereneSeen

o

Very nice!

o

Beautiful! Care to share your painting techniques? I usually leave mine unpainted because I just can't get that beautiful "real" look that you certainly have captured!

o

now come on! ... that isn't a casting.. that's a real leaf! We aren't that naive here. Stop pulling our legs!

*smile* just teasing...

but it truly does look like it is the real thing. very beautiful! kudos on a wonderful piece of art!
*cheers and round of applause*

bluejean in ohio

o

You are all too kind with all the compliments!