Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
irmgaard

work shop advise!!!!!

Irmgaard
17 years ago

The girls at work have pestered me into having a workshop at my house. Its not like I'm an expert, I've done a few pots and some leaves and the results have been either really good or really bad so I'm kind of nervous but I think we will have fun anyway, there may be a bonfire and beverages after...heehee.

In the meantime does anyone have any helpful hints for me? Especially in the area of adding latex paint, I have done this by the seat of my pants and I think it does make the piece stronger but I have been totally guessing on the amount. I just replace some of the water with paint.

Comments (8)

• Fleur
    17 years ago

I hope someone answers quickly. I'm having a concrete leaf workshop at my home tomorrow. I've never added latex paint and don't have any information about it on my step-by-step handout. Are you doing concrete or hypertufa?

• garden_chicken
    17 years ago

Try searching "workshop" on this forum, there are a few prior threads on this topic. Good luck with your workshops, post pictures if you get a chance, you're braver than I am!

• Dena6355
    17 years ago

I offer workshops through a couple places and also at my home. I am not sure what information you want. I do have a hand out of how to, and I DO NOT hand this out at the beginning. I found out quickly in the first couple workshops that there will always be the Evelyn Wood speed reader who reads the entire sheet of material and has questions beyond where you are.
    I make a quick sample hosta leaf. I usually have a leaf that I have made the day prior, to show how easily the hosta leaf comes off, and often I will then break the leaf, to get the point across that PATIENCE is very important.