Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sereneseen

Engineering question about a tufa urn

sereneseen
18 years ago

I'm envisioning a large 24" tall tufa urn I would like to make but I'm worried about how thick a stem (the area between the urn and base) I would need that would be able to hold up all the tufa for the urn portion. Does anyone know? Does this even make sense?

Does anyone have any suggestions on making an urn. Do you make the base, stem, and urn separate? Would you make it all one piece? I'm really new to all this and I'm trying to work through this. After reading this last statement, I had to chuckle. It sounds like I'm in some kind of therapy---"working through this."

Thanks for any help you could give me.

Serene

Comments (8)

• tango88
    18 years ago

You could try making the base first and inserting a coupla' short pieces of rebar where the neck will be. Let that harden well, then build up the container portion on top of the embedded rebar. Bending the ends over into an "L" shape on each end also helps secure them. Just a thought...anybody else?...

• GardenChicken
    18 years ago

Hi Serene,

I was ging to suggest using 2 plumbing flanges with a short piece of galv. pipe between them to get you started, then do as tango suggested and add the container portion on top.

Let us know how you make out, it sounds like a great project!

~GardenChicken

• Anela
    18 years ago

Hi Serene, (replace the last e with an a and you have my name lol)

Anyway, what about getting some thin plastic and form it into a 'cone shape'(invision the cones animals wear so they don't scratch their ears :) cover that with hardware mesh then cover with your mix. I have been wanting to do a large urn shaped piece and this is the method that I plan on using. of course you can tweak it here and there and add support like stiffer wire up the sides if needed as you build it. Hope that helps :)
    Anela

• tufaenough
    18 years ago

Serene I would build it in two pieces Urn/Base.