Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tropicalfreak

Newbie Here with a Question...

tropicalfreak
14 years ago

Say I have something I want to cast. I don't wanna ruin the item. But it is heavy and I am wondering if I could build a box to fill with sand, wet the sand, lay the item face down in the sand and remove. Now... can I pour in the mix? Will i disturb the impression I have made?When I pull the item out, won't there be sand all over it?

Thanks...

P.S. I'm also very interested in leaf casting. How to...?

Cliff

Comments (7)

• Mike Larkin
    14 years ago

LEAF CASTING INSTUCTIONS

Ingredients

â¡ Portland Cement- 90lb bag (do not buy broken bags)
    â¡ Play Sand or any very fine sand
    â¡ Concrete bonding agent
    ⡠Leaf with firm veins  i.e. Hosta
    â¡ Heavy duty plastic spoon, and knife
    â¡ Container to mix ingredients
    â¡ Clear wrap
    â¡ Yogurt container
    â¡ Water

Mix the portland cement and sand .

Use the yogurt cup to measure 1 - part portland cement , 2 - parts sand. Place the dry ingredients in the mixing container. You may need more or less ingredients depending on the size of the leaf.

Add a small amount bonding agent to about 1 ½ cup of water. Pour the water into the dry mix and slowly mix until get a gooey paste. Do not over agitate.

Let the mix rest about 5 min.

Place a scoop or two of damp sand on your flat surface. Then pick out a nice leaf (no holes) and place it on top of the damp sand mound, veins up. Then shape the sand mound to support the leaf. Remove leaf and cover sand with plastic wrap. Return the leaf back on top of the damp sand (covered with plastic wrap).

Using the plastic spoon, scoop the gooey mix, placing it on the center of the vein side of the leaf. Pat the mix, moving towards the edge. Add more mix to the center (on top of the first flattened scoop) Pat the mix out to the edge of the leaf. Use the plastic knife to keep the mix close to the edge. Try to make your leaves about ½"  ¾" thick.