Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
artsymama_gw

120 foot tufa retaining wall

artsymama
19 years ago

Hi All!

Thank you so much for all your help, pictures, hints and advice. I got brave this weekend and tackled my first tufa project- a 120 foot retainng wall! I did a tufa face(portland, sand, peat 1:1:2) on an existing cement block wall that was filled with rebar, cement and rocks. All this as practice for my hay bale wall.

Take a look at it & please give me feedback on the "carving" does it look ok? or does it look too fake rock ish? I plan to add colors(if I can ever move again)with coffee & tea tomorrow, and wood stain next week.

Please check it out at:

http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/sutterock@sbcglobal.net/album?.dir=/4e52&.src=ph&.tok=phPO.lBBiQezSujU

hope the link works- im new at this posting stuff

Comments (67)

• eva1429
    19 years ago

It ROCKS!!! What a fantastic tufa wall and an amazing first tufa project! What tools did you use for carving, and how long did you let the tufa set up before starting to carve?

Wonderful!

Eva

• dixiesmom
    19 years ago

Wow! What I wouldn't do for some of your energy! I sure wish I would have discovered Tufa when I was 20 years younger. As it is, I have been inspired to start some weight training. Funny it took Tufa to make me want to get in better shape. You people are truly inspiring.

• Longlocks
    19 years ago

ROTFLMAO at Dixiesmom!
    And here I thought that tufa-ing was a weight training program!!!
    (and even if it's not, I'd rather lift tufa than weights any day :-)

Kathy/Longlocks

• impulsive
    19 years ago

You probably have the endurance of a marathon runner if you are doing projects like this and chasing after (did you say?) three kids under 3 1/2!

Debbie

• colleenanorris
    19 years ago

I was wondering how thick you made your "rocks" on your wall?? It looks great!

• butterflybush
    19 years ago

Did we ever see pictures of the completed wall? BB

• leigh_wi
    19 years ago