Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
donnaz5

how old is your oldest outdoor tufa project??

donnaz5
18 years ago

i'm new to tufa, and interested in hearing from any of you about the lifespan of tufa. how old, and how is it holding up, especially in parts of the country with frreze/thaw cycles?? thanks, donna

Comments (11)

• billie_ann
    18 years ago

My oldest pieces are troughs and planters, 15 years. They are spread out over the U.S. with friends and relatives. Have a few still with me in zone 6. At least 2 planters in New York state near Nyack zone 5 are still fine. Billie

• tufaenough
    18 years ago

Hi Donna
    You have to ask very specific questions about what type of planter and it's location.
    I have yet to see even ONE picture of a tufa planter sitting on the ground in winter filled with snow.
    You will see pictures of little pots on decks and mushrooms out in the snow. But if you are thinking of large tufa planters that will remain filled with soil, be covered in snow or touch the ground all winter you may be out of luck.

I have never found a single Tufa planter that has lasted on the ground in a Z5. I believe they are like urban legends. Everyone knows someone who has one but when you try to find proof of it's longevity it's impossible to come by.

But if you think you have it tough I'm in a z3 where 8 inch thick concrete walls get destroyed by ice.:)

• deedlesmom
    18 years ago

My one and only tufa planter I made is app. 15" x 8" and the sides are only 5" high. It has hens and chicks planted in it. It's lasted 3 years in Michigan zone 5 winters, it has always sat on mulch, never direct contact with ground. It was made with a Portland cement, sand and peatmoss combo.
    Sheree

• tufaenough
    18 years ago

I suspect small shallow troughs filled with desert type plantings should beat most freeze thaw situations.