Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
donna1442

blue bottle tree with hanging bottles

donna1442
15 years ago

Hi all

Its been a long time since I have posted but I look all the time. I have been saving blue bottles for a few years and I have about 90 bottles now. I am wanting to do my tree a little different, I want them to hang so as the wind blows they whistle just like if you were blowing in the top of the bottle. They had a tree like this in the movie "Ray". So if you have any ideas or pictures please post them. I have thought of using rebar but I dont weld, or a dead tree, any other ideas? Thanks

Donna

Comments (10)

• susiewantsroses
    15 years ago

Donna,

Wooden dowels. I would take post hole diggers, dig a hole, take one bag of concrete. Pour the concrete around a 4" x 4" post in the hole you dug. The next day- Take a drill bit the size of the wooden dowel thickness and drill holes for your dowel branches. You can use screws with closed hoop ends (eye screws). Rope, shoe string leather, or wire your bottles to the eye screws on the branches. I also would polyurethan the entire wooden structure before hanging the bottles.

I believe the open mouth up was the original way that a bottle tree was meant to be hung. They were meant to ward off evil spirits. The scary sound of the wind over the mouth of a bottle would certainly do that. The different depths of rain in the bottles will make the notes vary and it will become what is called a wind organ. My concern would be that the bottles would become mosquito breeding beds and the bottles may get water stains and other bugs on the inside. (??????) I'm speculating. I have considered this for my own garden, so I've thought about it a lot.

Hope something here helps. I cant wait to see your bottle collection!!!!!

Susie

• concretenprimroses
    15 years ago