Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
granny2anb

I'd love your input on this.

granny2anb
13 years ago

I love seeing all the totems and birdbaths people make and have been looking for blue glass. I finally found two blue vases and two blue plates. Now I welcome ideas on how to put these together. In the picture, they're just stacked. I haven't glued any pieces together yet.

{{gwi:133062}}

Comments (21)

• marylee_2010
    13 years ago

grannytoo, I love your blue glass. It is beautiful. I am not good at knowing the best way to set up totems. It takes me forever to finally put mine together to glue. I keep changing my mind. Your vase shapes look good together. When I put my plates on, I put them upside down so they won't collect water, but that is just my preference. You do whatever looks best to you. Let us see what you finally decide to do, although they look pretty good right now. - Marylee

• Marlene Kindred
    13 years ago

Hi Grannytoo~

Blue glass is wonderful for totems....looks so cool in the sunshine. My suggestions would be if you plan to leave your totems outside in the winter, it is a good idea to turn the plates upside down as marylee said. That way the water won't collect there and force the pieces apart or break them. Also, you might want to put a plate (not necessarily a clear blue one) on the bottom for weight and stability. You could also try turning the top vase upside down to see if it is more visually pleasing to you and of course you can add more to the top of it as well. Let us see what you decide on so we can ooh and aaahhh some more!

• nonacook
    13 years ago

Hi grannytoo--it is good to see your name here again.
    I love the blue and what the others have said works
    for me too! A microwave plate would be a great bottom.
    Bet you could find one in the Avon Goodwill!!!
    Didn't we have fun there? LOL

• granny2anb
    Original Author
    13 years ago