Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jwahlton

How high should birdbaths be?

jwahlton
12 years ago

First of all I'd like to say that I have thoroughly enjoyed this forum. This is my first time posting here. I've loved looking at all of the photos. I especially like the flowers and will try my hand at making some as Mother's Day gifts.

But I found a cool iron plant stand, that's about 2-3' tall and a beautiful serving bowl that fits perfectly on it. Is that too short for a birdbath? I'm sure it's personal taste, but should it be taller than that for birds? I can always use the bowl and stand for something else!

TIA

Julia

Comments (12)

• Marlene Kindred
    12 years ago

Welcome jwahlton! I think your stand and bowl sound just perfect for a birdbath! I have several in my gardens and they are of varying heights and the birds don't seem to mind a bit. I even have one that is only about 18" tall and the butterflies love that one! Post a picture if you can...we LOVE pictures!

• jlily
    12 years ago

Welcome to Garden Junk. There are many talented people here that keep us all working to make new things for our gardens. Stay around and enjoy!! Jlily

• rock_oak_deer
    12 years ago

I have a number of bowls and saucers all over the place at varying heights because we have a drought in progress. The birds don't mind and we have discovered that birds will investigate them and choose the one best suited to their size. We've decided they are so entertaining that we'll keep them around even after we get rains.

Our neighbors have outdoor cats so we make sure they can't get to them easily.

• rock_oak_deer
    12 years ago