Return to the Garden Junk Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My First Glass Plate Flower

Posted by cindee11461 z9CA (My Page) on
Sun, May 17, 09 at 11:01

This is my first attempt at making a glass plate flower. I like how it turned out.(-:
The DH helped with the soldering of the copper pipe(-: He even cut out the leaves.
I bought the glass plates at the dollar store.
The finishing touch was the ceramic electric fence insulator from the JUNK TRAIN!!! Thanks guys!!!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My First Glass Plate Flower

BEAUTIFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!

YOU DID IT SO WELL!!!!!!! Tell us more about the leaves and stems and how they were made.

o

OH YEAH BABY ! ! ! The copper stem and leaves really add the touch.

BTW has your crafty brother been creating any GJ lately?

Good your hubby helped out too. WTG ~tenderlee

o

you sure did a great job. love it.

o

Oh, Love it, the leaves really make the flower. The insulator is cute, and makes a nice contrast. I need more info on making the leaves, I need to add some to my flowers. Did you use the Bell Hangers for the back?
We have the same little candle holder dish for flower centers.
Your flower looks wonderful in your garden! Warning: You will want a whole crop of them..lol

o

• Posted by sorie6 Zone4 Colo (My Page) on
    Sun, May 17, 09 at 12:33

That is soooo pretty. I love the copper stem and leaves also. TFS.

o

Ohhh Cindee, that turned out so well. The copper stem & leaves are the perfect finishing touch.

o

Hi Everyone.
Thanks for your great comments(-:
The leaves were cut out of a copper sheet. I had left over from the gold fish I made. I drilled a hole through the copper pipe and my husband soldered a copper wire to the leave and then stuck the wire/leaf into the hole on the copper pipe and soldered it in place. The copper sheets are really expensive now so I will be using copper wire for leaves after I run out!!!