Return to the Garden Junk Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Bendable Metal Rods?

Posted by loribee2 CA 9 (My Page) on
Mon, May 24, 10 at 15:26

Hi, newbie here who is relishing the discovery of this forum! I'm not sure I've come to the right place, but you all seem extremely creative and I'm hoping someone can help.

I got a vision for some yard art the other day, and when I get these ideas in my head, I've got to pursue them even though I haven't a clue as to what I'm doing! ;-)

I want to create a "bouquet" of metal rods that will stand among my flower beds at about 6' high when finished. I want them to come straight out of the ground like a stake, but somewhere around the 4 foot height, I want to bend the tops into spirals and/or corkscrews. Depending on the material used, I could paint them to keep them all-weather if needed.

My first thought had been rebar, until a thorough search of this forum told me you can't bend rebar like that. But that was about the width of the material I was hoping to use. Copper maybe?

Does anyone have an idea on what kind of bendable metal rods I could shape like that, ideally without the need for any blow torches (I mentioned clueless at the top, right?).

My other thought was to use rebar as my base, then attach some heavy gauge wire at the top if I couldn't achieve this effect with one piece. That might have a fun "springy" effect--especially if the tops swayed in the wind. Can you solder onto rebar? Or maybe copper wire would stay in place as long as I twisted it far enough down the rebar "stem"?

I've been searching "bendable metal rods", "bending rebar", "heavy gauge wire" to no avail. Can't come up with anything that looks like this that I could plagerize, and while I know exactly what I want, I've got no clue as to what would be the best material to use.

I would appreciate any ideas or experience you all have with something like this!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Bendable Metal Rods?