Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rachelthepoet

Garden Junk for Beginners

rachelthepoet
11 years ago

Hello all! I am new to the world of Garden Junk! I am obsessed with this forum group and am working my way back through all the old posts. I'm clipping entries like a crazy person, but I thought I'd come to you for advice.

My DH and I have been married a little over a year and have recently relocated to the NC mountains. We're renting our house, so my garden consists of containers (mostly daylilies and irises) scattered around our deck's steps and garage. Our deck is empty except for a porch swing. I'm into recycling, reusing, antiquing, and bargain-hunting.

What are Garden Junk projects you'd suggest to someone who is just getting started? I'm open-minded and have lots of empty space. I look forward to hearing from you. You seem like a fun and friendly bunch!

Comments (10)

• Marlene Kindred
    11 years ago

Welcome Rachel! Always glad to have new people join the group! I'm assuming that you're looking for ideas to junk up your deck, but I could be wrong about that. Several of us have Baker's racks on our porches or decks and there are lots of posts about those, so you can do a search. You could also do fairy gardens, gnome gardens, make totems to decorate your deck and also find salvaged items to create a screen for your deck and various items as decoration. Here is a link to our inspiration album for you to look through. Enjoy! Oh, and we LOVE pictures here, so don't be bashful about sharing your stuff!

Here is a link that might be useful: Garden Junk Inspiration

• cnm1
    11 years ago

How about repurposing an old armoire as a potting bench/storage? Pallets to make more furniture. Old chairs and some wood to make a bench. Believe me this site is addictive. I just finished up 10 more glass plate flowers today ( and no I don't sell them, I just can't stop!!)

• jeannespines
    11 years ago