Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
irishsax72

Old Windows- Make your own patterns?

irishsax72
15 years ago

I'm new to this and to the site, but I have "inherited" 20 old windows from my grandmother's house and I really want to use them for art. Does anyone out there paint their windows for indoor use (leaving the frame and panes intact) and make their own patterns from existing photos? Also, any experience with Gallery Glass products for faux stained glass effects? Thanks!

Comments (17)

• junkinthetrunk
    15 years ago

Saw these at a flea market
    {{gwi:167173}}

{{gwi:167176}}

{{gwi:167179}}

• caroleena
    15 years ago

these are my dream project! i have the old windows but not an artistic bone in my body! i can draw stick figures ..... lol...and they don't look particularly good. i have considered stenciling, rubber stamping, and the stained glass kits but the kits are pricey!
    woe is me...

• nursetina
    15 years ago

I am new here as well, but have been reading posts for a while. I have used the gallery glass paints for applying to a lighted glass block. Paint the design on the glass, or they sell these special sheets, you can paint the design on then peel it off. They seem to hold up well, although have not had it outside yet. I am planning one with a flag on glass block, just as soon as I finish a few other projects.
    I found tons of really nice patterns on line.
    Good luck
    Tina

• luna_llena_feliz
    15 years ago

Oh my, those are gorgeous! I love the flowered ones. I would have gladly paid $40 for one of those. Now if I could only paint ...

• kudzukween
    15 years ago

I painted one with stained glass paint. I used painters tape on the back for the straight line patterns. I have another I want to make....one day! :)........to hang in the living room, from a picture I found of a real stained glass window. I bought most of the paints at a yard sale,so it was cheap for me. This one is for the front porch.

{{gwi:167182}}

• weave1022