Return to the Garden Junk Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Project

Posted by merrygardener z8olywa (My Page) on
Tue, Aug 5, 14 at 15:01

I was going to post on the Home Decorating forum, thinking it would receive some good feedback, then thought to check out the garden forums. And wowza! Here you all are! I bought this, uh, treasure about 15 years ago, probably for a dollar. It has sat under the eaves of the house while the children grew, and now it is time to make some garden art! It was heavily rusted when I bought it, and that hasn't changed.
Today, I sanded with sandpaper "for metal" and after wearing out my fingers and sweating up a storm, moved to the wire brush. Yes, I am a novice in these things! I would love to know if I need to scrub every last sign of rust off of it before painting or just get it fairly smooth (but with all the chunks of rust off). This photo shows it mid-way through the process. After lots of wire scrubbing, there remains surface rust, but it feels fairly smooth.

Also, any ideas what it might be from?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Project

Looks like the shell from a practice bomb- top removed.

I'd be tempted not to paint it, but if that is your goal, then getting as close to bare metal as you can is best.

tj

o

Wow! How cool is that? Does look like a practice bomb shell of some type. That will make an awesome planter! I agree, I would let it rust, but if you want to paint it, be sure to prime it first. Hope we get to see what the finished project looks like!

o

I live in the Pacific Northwest (think wet all year except for summer and early fall), and I don't want it to rust away (but obviously I don't know..... Might it just rust and be fine for years?). I also like the idea of it taking a prominent presence in the garden, even thought it might lend my husband to believe that surely there is enough "art" out there! (Ha!)