Return to the Garden Junk Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to repair broken cement swans

Posted by frankielynn 7b (My Page) on
Sat, Sep 22, 12 at 22:18

Today I got 2 very large cement swan planters. They both have broken necks with chunks of missing cement. The rebar is showing. I have been researching how to repair them but wondered if anyone here has ever rebuilt missing parts of a cement statue with good results. I have read about using bondo, epoxy putty and portland cement. I can't wait to get them fixed and put out in my yard. They are very graceful looking. I thought I would also fill any other cracks and re-paint. Any insight on the best method would be appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to repair broken cement swans

I'm no expert, but have repaired a few concrete yard animals. Any construction adhesive should work. It helps to drill holes in the 2 pieces with a masonry drill bit and put some sort of dowel where you can. The holes don't have to match up perfectly. Drill them a little larger than the dowel. It just adds a little more strength with less chance of it snapping off again. Clean off any adhesive on the outside before it dries. Some of that stuff is not paintable. Fill the holes and cracks with any material that will hold up outside that can be painted. Use exterior primer and paint. It should hold up just like it does on your house. If you paint them dark first, then dry brush a lighter color over it, the dark paint left in the low points can mask some damage. Hope that helps. Linda

o

I have a cement deer in my yard and the ear fell off. I glued it back on with E-6000 and it's held up for years .

o

Thanks for the info. Did you use dowels in the sections that had missing chunks and had to be remade out of bondo or cement?

o

Be sure to post a pic when you are done. They sound great!
Kathy

o