Return to the Garden Junk Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Hmm what to do with this piece of junk?

Posted by a.girl.named.max 4a (My Page) on
Sun, Oct 24, 10 at 22:21

Hi,

My past attempts with photobucket have failed so I'm trying another method.

I just purchased this brand new light fixture. It had been sitting at a local TS for over 6 months. They were asking $20 for it. I offered them $2 and they accepted. Now I'm not sure what I'm going to do with it. It's about 20" inches in diameter and has a dull gray finish. I'm not good with wiring so I won't be using it for lighting. I'm looking for any creative ideas. (Or maybe I should save it for the SS exchange?)

A girl named "Max"

Image link: Hmm what to do with this piece of junk? (15 k)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Hmm what to do with this piece of junk?

Well, sure is interesting piece, will the lights come off the "ball" shape? Right now would make a great pumpkin for Halloween with just a face added of wire, tin, plastic. Hope others come up with some great ideas. Guess it could be body of an animal if you can weld. Have fun! Jan

o

Looks like a great "chandy" for a covered porch or a protected area ... susiewantsroses did one with birds ...marlene, too, maybe froufrou, too... I think...so you could spray paint some birds for on top of the candleholder parts ... & maybe some nesting materials inside the chandy.

It could be an orb in your gardens .... turn it upside down & sit it on a pillar (of sorts)...whatever you can come up with in your stash!...then you could hang stars or danglies or whatever from the upside-down candleholders.

Or as others have done, you could "stuff" it & plant Hens & Chicks or sedums.

Have fun! You got it for a steal! Jeanne S.

o