Return to the Garden Junk Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to cut teacups in half

Posted by louisianagirl LA (My Page) on
Wed, Dec 9, 09 at 14:15

This is my first time posting here, but I have been a lurker for many months. I am hoping that someone can tell me how to cut a teacup in half. What type of tile saw do you use? I can't find any information on the internet on how to do this. Please help!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to cut teacups in half

I use a diamond wheel on my dremel and cut very carefully,gotta watch those fingers!!!

o

That's not the way to share a cup of tea with yoour friend. LOL.

Look into buying a wet saw like this, you can have so much more fun doing many other things. Can cut a tea cup in hald in no time. Tiles, glass bottles, stone, rocks -----

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=3733

dcarch

o

Well dcarch, ya just had to tell me about that didn't ya??? Cause it forced me to go and buy the dern thing. Oh well, I needed to get one anyway. Marry Christmas to me. Thanks though.

Donna in Florida

o

I do mosaics and have cut cups in half for my wall art but I just use my wheeled glass nippers. I need to get myself a wet saw tho as they cut them in half perfectly and you can use both sides that way. The way I cut them you can only use one side most of the time, occasionally you get lucky and can use both sides but very rarely.

o

BTW, gon't get scared off by a diamond wet saw.

It is very a very safe tool to use. Less dangerous than a kitchen knife. You will not get seriously hurt by it unless you insist on sitting on it while it is going.

dcarch

o