Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chubavis

Help with fixing a lawn that looks like a beach.

Chubavis
11 years ago

This is my first time ever posting to a forum but I am stumped with how to fix my lawn issue and I hope someone can point me in the right direction.
I am a new homeowner and purchased a property that had a ton of trees, plants, bushes and random flowerbeds all over...After cleaning up a lot of the yard getting rid of trees and all the extra bushes and such just to get to a nice open lawn, we finally had grass growing. Unfortunately, our cesspool was damaged and we had to get a whole new system put in, resulting in what you see in the picture...A Beach Lawn.

We were out of money so we couldnt do anything last year, so we did our best, picking the weeds out and mainly focusing on the rest of our property. It has not changed much, some grass grew, especially around the edges of the sand, with some patches in the middle, but for the most part its still a sandy beach. If anything, larger rocks might have come to the surface since this last picture was taken.

Now, we want to start fixing it since we have some cash again. I just have no clue where to start. Do I just add topsoil? Do I mix topsoil with the sand? Side Note, there are also a ton of huge roots and such that i know could just be below the surface of the sand. How do I deal with those?

I'm just trying to get an idea if this is something i can fix myself or if I am going to need major professional help. Thank you again. I appreciate any tips or thoughts on this matter.

Comments (4)

• grass1950
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Tiemco just posted some great advice in a topic just below yours and it is applicable to your situation. BTW, you don't need to add topsoil as sand makes a great soil base and adding topsoil can create drainage and soil horizon issues. Read tiemco's post and come back with your questions.

• Chubavis
    Original Author
    11 years ago