Return to the Lawn Care Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Puffball mushrooms? Get rid of them?

Posted by ourhappyhome 7b Georgia (My Page) on
Sun, Feb 25, 07 at 17:46

Hello all, I'm new to the lawn care forum. I spend all of my time in the citrus and tomatoe forums. I've recently purchased a new home, about 2 years ago now. We've seeded and reseeded the back yard with fescue. Last year, we started a lawn service which may be spreading fungus/toadstools in the yard. Please forgive my ignorance. I know absolutely nothing about this sort of thing, all I know is that both my front yard (bermuda grass) and backyard (fescue) are COVERED with the most awful looking mushrooms I've ever seen. In the back, I have clusters of little gray/white mushrooms with holes in the top. They've definitely spread since our first siting. I've read that I can sprinkle corn meal to get rid of them. I don't mind them except that where they are, there is no grass. It seems they've killed the grass. Don't know for sure. These are not the cute little mushrooms that pop-up after a rain. These ugly little things are always there. Should I worry? An online search revealed a picture of a "puffball" mushroom. My mushrooms look a lot like the tiny version. Please help. What would you do? I have about an acre of area covered with these. Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Puffball mushrooms? Get rid of them?

A pitching wedge works great. Nothing you can do to stop them from growing as they are a natural process of decay. Organic lawns will see much more activity.

As to spreading them from one lawn to another is a different topic. Washing the machinery with a bleach solutions will kill the spores and prevent infestation.

o

If anything, they have fed your lawn. Mushrooms appearing on the surface just points to something is happening underneath; probably a tree root has died and is rotting, the fungi from such is producing the mushrooms up top.