Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thetaxidermist

Native Grass planting in AZ

thetaxidermist
10 years ago

Ok, Im located in Phoenix AZ. I have stripped my yard down Ill be doing some more prep as the month goes to make sure the soil is ready and no weeds are present. I also have a watering system in place for the yard.

Now, I'm looking at planting Native Grass, specifically Buffalograss. I'm attacked to the Legacy because its all female plants. I also like the allergy relief of this. And this may be adverse to that, but I also want to mix in Blue Grama for nice texture mixed throughout.

The Legacy comes in plugs, do I plant these and then also seed in Blue Grama? How would I work this?

Also another seed mix I see is Habiturf, anyone know much about this? whats the germination rate ect...

Im very new to this so any insight would be great.

Comments (8)

• dchall_san_antonio
    10 years ago

What is your objective? Why are you going with buffalo rather than hybrid bermuda or St Augustine?

Is the area full sun?

I hear about Habiturf. It seems to be a little dicey to get started, but once in, it performs as advertised. The seeded buffalo grass is not going to be all female. In fact it would probably be a little leggy with very tall male and female flower stems that make it look shaggy in a week after mowing.

I'm not sure blue grama will thrive in Phoenix. Have you asked around about that? If so, then you should be able to mix it like you are suggesting in with the Legacy buffalo.