Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kitnovice

New Seeded Lawn in October. What now??? Complete newbie

KitNovice
10 years ago

I am completely new to having a lawn. We seeded our lawn last October. We're in NY. It came in pretty well, but there are thin patches that we'd like to reseed. We haven't mowed yet (at all). What should I do next? We have good soil and I've heard that fertilizing now will just fertilize the weeds.

Should I try to reseed the bare patches now or wait until fall?
If I reseed now, what do I need to do? When should I start?

Thanks for all of your help!

Clueless

Comments (4)

• dchall_san_antonio
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Did you seed with fescue, Kentucky bluegrass, both, or a mix with rye? You might have to find the bag or box of seed to answer this.

If there was any Kentucky bluegrass in the mix, then you will not need to reseed. If it was only rye or fescue, then you might want to reseed. KBG will spread to fill in while the other grasses will not spread.

Here are the basics of lawn care...

Basics of Lawn Care

After reading numerous books and magazines on lawn care, caring for lawns at seven houses in my life, and reading numerous forums where real people write in to discuss their successes and failures, I have decided to side with the real people and dispense with the book and magazine authors. I don't know what star their planet rotates around but it's not mine. With that in mind, here is the collected wisdom of the Internet savvy homeowners and lawn care professionals summarized in a few words. If you follow the advice here you will have conquered at least 50% of all lawn problems. Once you have these three elements mastered, then you can worry about weeds (if you have any), dog spots, and striping your lawn. But if you are not doing these three things, they will be the first three things suggested for you to correct.

Watering