Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
arwaso

Seeding a lawn in downtown Denver

arwaso
12 years ago

Hi. I'm relatively new to lawn care and have had several failed attempts over the last few years to get a full, green lawn. My lawn usually looks okay for a downtown yard, but there is definitely room to improve. I'm not very well educated in the lawn care department.

To further complicate things, I've heard conflicting information (online versus Denver Botanic Gardens) about when to seed. It's now late March and the bulbs are popping up already in the city. The daytime temps here have been in the 60s - 70s (down to the 40s at night). We even hit 80 in the city over the weekend. I aerated two weeks ago and am now being told its time to put seeds down. I'm planning to broadcast (overseeding) by hand using BOSS (Bio-Organic Fertilizer).

So my questions are:

1. What time of day and under what conditions should I apply the seed?

2. Should I put the BOSS on before or after I seed?

3. Does this mean that I now need to water every day? People usually don't even set their lawn sprinklers to come on here until mid- May, and we usually get another big snowstorm this time of year. I know: 80 degrees one week and snow the next sounds ludicrous, but this is Colorado. Are there any locals with some knowledge to share?

I just joined the forum because I want to really get my lawn looking good this year. I figure I can get a head start by getting some good advice early in the season and keeping up with the care throughout the year. I'm using organic fertilizers but I'm open to all advice on how to get a full green lawn.

Thanks to all who can help.

- Josh

Comments (5)

• dchall_san_antonio
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago