Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
draz1711

2 week old Zoysia palisades sod - Brown spots

Draz1711
9 years ago

I am a complete newbie at lawn maintainence and need your expert advice.

I got zoysia palisades installed in my backyard ( appx 2200 sq feet ) and was reasonalble green when installed.

Now after 2 weeks i see some brown spots along the Fences and some areas in the center of the lawn.

I have been watering daily with sprinkler system being used twice a week.

Should i use Scotts Starter Food for new sods ?

Will that help renew the brown spots ?

Please help!

Comments (2)

• apundt-tx
    9 years ago

Its probably in shock since its roots were severed at the farm. This is usually normal. Gently lift a few pieces of green and brown squares and see if there are new roots growing and how much soil moisture is there.

• dchall_san_antonio
    9 years ago

If and when you cannot lift the sod from the ground, you need to cut way back on watering. Your sentence about water needs more explanation, but new sod should be watered lightly 3x per day at breakfast, lunch, and dinner time. Once the sod roots have knit to the ground underneath, then cut the watering in half. Start by going to every other day with 2x to 3x per day. A week later cut to once every 2 days but water a little longer to get the water deeper into the soil. Ideally by summer you should be watering once per week and applying a full inch at a time. That regimen should work even under most watering restrictions.