Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hamster1_gw

Dethatching

Hamster1
9 years ago

Hi,

Admittedly I'm a complete newbie to lawn care. My husband and I just bought a house and the lawn definitely needs some tlc...some weeds, some deadspots and random patches of sod that are raised above everything else.

I'm curious about dethatching though. Can a lawn sweeper be used to keep thatch in check? I asked because I was sweeping up gum balls the other day (stupid spikey balls lol) and ended up collecting a ton of dead grass too.

I'm curious if I just run the sweeper around before thatch gets thick/strongly woven if that could prevent ultimately having to use a special dethatching tool.

Comments (5)

• lazy_gardens
    9 years ago

It will help, but you have to use it regularly.

Thatch is a combination of clippings and dead blades attached to grass plants - the sweeper will prevent the clippings from collecting as thickly, but the dead blades will still happen and eventually need removal.

The only tool you really need is a dethatching rake.

{{gwi:87329}}

I did 1200 square feet of Buffalo/Bermuda mix lawn last week with one, spreading the work out over a period of several days.

• Hamster1
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Ah ok, that makes sense. Thanks for pointing out the thatching rake! I'm going to attempt to rehab the front portion of our lawn first (so I don't spend a ton of effort doing the whole yard and end up not getting any results) so I could manually rake it if need be.

• dchall_san_antonio
    9 years ago

Wait! What is a lawn sweeper? Name and model number?