Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
planoresident1008

Plano (DFW) area re-sod advice requested

planoresident1008
11 years ago

Hello,

I am about to get my front lawn re-sodded with Palisade zoysia grass. I am complete newbie with landscaping. Before I get the re-sod work started, can the experienced folks out in this forum please provide me with do's and don'ts advice?

If you want to take a look at my front lawn you will be able to do so by clicking on the link below
My Dead lawn

Thanks.

Comments (5)

• lou_spicewood_tx
    11 years ago

Are you doing a complete renovation or just part of it?

You do have to water lightly daily for a couple weeks just to keep sod moist while they grow new roots into the ground then gradually cut back. Water about half inch of water whenever they start to wilt. It's pretty obvious when it happens. Eventually, you'll go up to 7-14 days during hottest and driest spell in the summer before needing to water deeply about an inch of water. Organic program would be best for zoysia since it doesn't need much nitrogen. You just have to worry about watering the right way to keep lawn thick and lush. It's not that hard once you get hang of it.

Good luck. I will eventually have to get Palisades one day when trees get bigger and bermuda start to thin out.

• planoresident1008
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi Lou,

I will be doing renovation of my front lawn and on one side which is most of my lawn and the renovation area will be approx 2800 sq. ft. My questions are:

1) Approximately what would be cost to do the resod of the area of the size 2800 sq. ft. with Palisade Zoysia?

2) I have got a couple of guys come look at my lawn. One recommends that a layer of fertilizer to be put before putting the sod. The other says that the fertilizer should not be put in as the sod comes with the fertilizer. Which one is correct or advisable?

3) To water the lawn 1/2 an inch, how do measure the amount using the sprinkler?