Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kgrant_gw

Did I just ruin my lawn with too much fertilizer?

kgrant
11 years ago

This morning I put down Scotts Turfbuilder 2 with Weed Control (I believe it 28-0-0). This is my first time using it and for some reason, I bought the bag that was supposed to be used for 15,000 sq ft. I only have 5,000 sq ft. Is my lawn going to burn? Is there anything I can do to avoid damage? Should I water it to dilute it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (25)

• tiemco
    11 years ago

You should always water in synthetic fertilizer after application, especially if the grass is wet from dew in the morning. Give your yard a good drink if you haven't already done so.

• grass1950
    11 years ago

Don't Water, I'm told the longer nitrogen stays dry and exposed to sun the more it will disipate into the air and waste away. Not normally good as usually you want the nitro to get to the roots. The number 28 stands for the percent of nitrogen in the bag. By multiplying the weight of the bag by .28 you can determine how many pounds of nitrogen the bag contained. Multiplying the weight of the bag by .28 will give the total pounds of nitrogen in the bag. Say 50# X .28 = 14#. Now we devide that by the number of 1000 sq ft areas we want to cover. In your case: 14#/5 = 2.8#. It is not recommended to put down more than 1# at a feeding per month (I have read about some golf courses putting down a pound and a half). Your saving grace now will turn on the ratio of fast release and slow release nitrogen that was in that bag. The closer that the total pounds of fast release nitrogen is to 1# per 1000 sq ft of application the less the likely of damage.I'm going to take a guess that ol' Scotty probably doesn't put more than 50% fast release in.

• kgrant
    Original Author
    11 years ago

tiemco..the directions said not to water for 24 hrs because of the weed control. It needs to "stick" to the weeds.

• kgrant
    Original Author
    11 years ago