Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roninparkridgeil

Reel Mower for Chicago?

roninparkridgeil
16 years ago

Hi, First post here. I'm not a lawn expert and haven't cut grass much since my teens. A few years ago we moved from the city and have been using a lawn service. I'm ready to start taking care of this myself and have been looking around trying to figure out the best mower for me. I saw a show on HGTV a while ago showing a guy in the UK who's lawn looked like a carpet. I figured that since this is a relatively small yard (takes me under 1/2 hour the times I have done it myself), that I could take the time to really manicure it and start working towards something like what I saw on that program. I figured out that what he was using was a reel mower with a roller for striping and based on its looks, that it was either this or something very similar: http://www.atco.co.uk/products/balmoral.html. Having found this site, I now see that there are several makes available here (Atco's are not sold in the US): McLanes http://www.mclanemower.com/reelmowers.asp, Tru-Cuts http://www.trupower.com/tru_cut/reel-mowers.htm & Trimmers http://www.californiatrimmer.com/oldsite/trimmers.htm. Based on what I have read here (which includes just about every post containing the word "reel"), I contacted the people at Trimmer and got this response: "was designed to cut at a limited height 3/16"  1 ¼" for grasses that are drought resistant or cut short" which sounds like it won't work for me here in the suburbs of Chicago. Can anyone here recommend a Reel mower that would be suitable to this area (5)? I see that some of the manual reel mowers can cut almost to 3" tall, but I have my doubts that they could do the same job that these power models would do. Any feedback in this area would also be helpful too, though. As my yard is not very big, and I'm young enough and would not mind the exercise, if a manual reel could do the fine manicured look, I would consider that. My main goal is not tha