Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
opherman47

seeding to late possibly???

Opherman47
9 years ago

First post here. I have been a long time lurker on the nature and home side.

Some questions but first the facts:

I am new to lawn care other than mowing. So a complete newbie here. My wife and I bought a house shortly before I deployed to Afghanistan. When I got back we kept the same yard guy. My wife and I both noticed some patches of dirt under our trees and a whole lot of clover had moved in our back yard. (not so much the front). I ask our lawn guy about this and he said no problem. I can get some stuff to take care of that and leave the grass. He also mentioned that we needed to overseed. (i mentioned that I thought people did this in the fall) He said "doing it twice a year is best when you have a troubled lawn, once it is established densely, you can just overseed once a year" So i said go ahead.

He treated with some stuff called Trimec 922--- 3 weeks ago. The stuff took about 10-12 days to kill off the stuff but did a great job. unfortunately, we can now really see how bad our back yard is. 40 to 60 % is brown stuff. Our front yard (which is really shady btw) is still pretty good, just a few more spotches than before. He said in 3 weeks he would overseed. That brings me to 3 days ago. He aerated with one of those dirt plug machines and overseeded and fertilized. he did not dethatch or cover with lime or any light dirt like i have since read about online. He then told me to water. I asked how much and he just said "alot" so i google a watering schedule and learned a lot of stuff, and came up with a plan of action.

So since my ground was bone dry. I immediately water my yard down to 6 inches deep. (took a looong long time) I now have been watering 3 times a day 5 am, noon, and 5 pm. It takes a long long time for me to walk my lawn and hand hose water the hole thing. Several questions now: