Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenfanatic2003

Is there anything that permanently kills nutsedge?

gardenfanatic2003
12 years ago

I've been fighting nutsedge for nearly 10 years now. I started with pulling, and when that didn't work, I started spraying Sedgehammer (formerly Manage). The nutsedge would die from the Sedgehammer, but come back. I've even tried spraying twice - once in June, and again in August. It still comes back the following year, just as strong as ever.

Obviously, Sedgehammer kills the top growth, but not the root, or it wouldn't keep coming back. Is there anything that will actually kill nutsedge permanently, down to the root?

Deanna

Comments (37)

• schreibdave
    12 years ago

I havent tried it personally, but Tenacity is labeled for yellow nutsedge. It also seems to be effective against many weeds that it's not even labeled for. It's about $50 at Lesco.

Here is a link that might be useful: Tenacity

• tiemco
    12 years ago

In addition to Tenacity, you could also try this product which is available at Home Depot and is a bit cheaper: http://www.scotts.com/smg/catalog/productTemplate.jsp?proId=prod10550011&itemId=cat50064&tabs=general
    There is also a herbicide called Sedgehammer that is supposed to work well, but I think you would have to buy it online or at a place like Lesco: http://www.gowanco.com/ProductInfo~pid~76~SedgeHammer%20.aspx

• botanicalbill
    12 years ago

sedgehammer and image both kill nutsedge. It works by binding at growth sites and stop it from growing. This is in the grass part and the root. So it kills the plant, root and all. What is probably happening is you are not using per-emergent and a few of the millions of seeds in your lawn keep sprouting, and growing.
    Thats my guess.

• garycinchicago
    12 years ago