Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paknapp27

Lawn Renovation Issues (Eastern PA)

paknapp27
12 years ago

Hello all... I'm a newbie home owner with no previous experience in lawn care. I have been doing some research on how to renovate my front lawn. I just wanted to get some more info on what my renovation schedule/plan of action should be from now until late fall.

Description:

The section of lawn I am renovating is 1500ft^2. The previous home owners apparently provided no care. It has some tree cover, so I would say it is sun/shade mix. It does have 2 evergreen's in it, so I believe it may have acidic soil. Grass is very thin in spots and bare in others. There is roughly 50% good grass worth saving. Moss is evident (slight cover) in some areas. Clover and some other weeds are present as well.

Steps Taken So Far:

I sent out a soil sample to my county extension for analysis... waiting for results. Due to inpatience, I applied 40 lbs of pulverized lime (91% CCE)to sweeten the soil (risky???). Core aerated entire area 2 days ago. NO FERTILIZER OR WEED KILLER APPLIED. I was going to overseed but decided to wait until fall.

Questions:

What should be my next step to prepare for fall overseeding and bare spot repair... Should I apply weed kill? If so, when and what kind? Should I add some organic matter now that there are plugs exposed? I would like to plant TTTF and KBG... any advice for selection and ratio? Should I mix in some perennial ryegrass for the shady areas? Do I need to aerate again prior to seeding in the fall? Any advice is extremely appreciated. THANK YOU

Comments (3)

• dchall_san_antonio
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Here are the basics of lawn care...