Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ourhappyhome1

Help with weed identification

ourhappyhome
10 years ago

Hello, I am new to the lawn care forum, but not new to Gardenweb. If I ask a silly question, please be patient with me. Here's my situation.

Last year, we sodded my 3/4 acre back yard with bermuda sod. We have a lawn service that cuts every two weeks, and another service to spray for weeds once per month. The weed service cannot spray the backyard because the sod is not a year old, but hopefully this winter, we can get things going. Until then, I need help eliminating as many weeds as possible. The yard looks a mess! I'm so embarrassed. My DH does his best...sort of, but he just can't seem to get the hang of it. We've been at this since January. in mid March, we put down a few bags of Halt ( not enough in my opinion). That seemed to work for most of the crabgrass. We have been getting lots of rain lately so my DH put down two large bags of another brand of weed and feed. This one had a very high nitrogen, 38 i think. As a gardener, I dislike the idea of using weed and feed because i know in feeding the lawn, we are also feeding the weeds. Does that make sense? Considering the size of my lawn, the bermuda sod, and the time of year, is there a special type or brand of product that we should be using? Our neighbors yards look amazing. Why not ours? The only obvious difference is they cut weekly with personal mowers.

Please help me identify these weeds. The most common, not pictured, is Fescue, but the others are spreading rapidly. Thanks in advance! April

{{gwi:95028}}

Close ups of #5 and #2
{{gwi:95030}}

{{gwi:95032}}

Comments (9)

• texas_weed
    10 years ago

Is this a test, or your lawn?

Pictures are not great for identification of some of the subjects, but here is my best effort.

1. Spurge
    2. Annual Blue Grass
    3. Small Plantain or Dandelion.
    4. ? Not enough picture detail
    5. Carrot Weed
    6. Either Barn Yard or Quack Grass