Return to the Lawn Care Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What Grass Type Is This? Is It Too Late To Seed?

Posted by Jake216 8 (My Page) on
Mon, May 26, 14 at 20:47

This is my first post here, and I'm very new to lawn maintenance. We just bought our first house this winter and now that the spring/summer is here, I am trying to get some pointers of how to get my lawn into shape.

My first question is whether anyone can help me determine what kind of grass is currently growing in our backyard. I live in the Northwest corner of Louisiana and am pretty sure I know what type is growing but would appreciate confirmation from those who are experts.

Secondly, is it too late to try to seed the part of the lawn that is bare? I would like to get my lawn looking healthy as soon as possible.

Finally, there are several types of weeds that are fighting for control of my backyard. Since I have taken these photos, my wife and I have taken to pulling as many of these weeds as we can but they keep breaking off at the base; leaving the root behind. Will seeding help choke these weeds out or do I need to try a different approach?

Thank you all for your help.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What Grass Type Is This? Is It Too Late To Seed?

I don't know what kind of grass you have. I live in MD and my guess is it doesn't grow around here. it's probably a warm season grass of some sort.

My experience is with cold season grasses and you wouldn't seed those at this time of year. You would wait until around labor day. If you have a warm season grass, I don't know the best time to seed.