Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
algreen_gw

Growing Bahiagrass from seed in sandy soil

algreen
12 years ago

I live in central Florida. I recently cleared my backyard and am planning to grow bahiagrass from seed. I recently purchased one 50lb bag of brown top millet and one 50lb bag of bahiagrass seed along with two 25lb bags of 10:10:10 fertilizer. The clerk at the feed and seed store suggested I use equal parts of millet with bahia seed and equal parts fertilizer and till them into my sandy soil. The clerk suggested that I spread the seed evenly over my back yard and water with a sprinkler several times a day. My question is, if I do this, will I be wasting my time trying to grow grass in sandy soil, or should I use some sort of soil amendment that would hold water better then the currently completely sandy soil? Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (4)

• texas_weed
    12 years ago

Well I am no expert on paspalum aka Bahia grass, but I am pretty certain it is a niche grass that does best in very sandy soils, and tolerates very high salt levels. That is why it is used so much on coast line property. Due to its dense turf, deep roots, extensive rhizomes and stolons makes it an excellent for soil erosion control in very sandy soils.

• dchall_san_antonio
    12 years ago

Thanks weed, I did not know that bahia was paspalum. There are several grasses which grow very nicely on pure sand. You do have to water, mow, and feed them properly if you want to keep weeds out.

Before you open your bag of seed, read this page all the way through and decide if you still want bahia. As you probably know, bermuda and St Augustine are THE grasses of choice for central Florida. You will be bucking the trend. We have sensational St Augustine lawns on the Texas coast growing in pure beach sand. I'm afraid that any savings you achieve from buying cheap seed might be lost to repeated lawn mower maintenance from mowing this tough pasture grass.