Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ttonk_gw

noob question

ttonk
10 years ago

Hi all,

I receive a professional lawn care (4 time fertilizer, preemergent weed care and 2 more weed applications, and grub control).

But since this is my first year after sodding, my lawn is not so great. I went to Lowe's today and saw the snap spreader from Scotts. There were several snap bags and the only thing I do not get from the lawn care service was insecticide. So I bought one.

Now I'm not sure whether it's a good idea. I also have empty spots here and there so bought a bag of grass seeds and lawn soil. Are insecticides necessary? Can I spread the insecticide & grass seeds together? Not necessarily at the same time, but like within a day or two?

1. Where you live? Ohio zone 6.

2. What type of grass you have? Little bit of everything. There must have been a roll of fescue sod, as there are rectangular shape areas of different colored grass (fescue).

3. What products you have applied to your lawn, and how much? These include fertilizer, herbicide, fungicide, insecticide, etc.
Explained above

4. How often and how long you irrigate? 3 times a week. about 30 min.

5. Is the lawn established, or have you recently seeded/re-seeded or added sod? If so, when?
Sod one year ago.

6. At what height you mow and how often?
Don't know. Once a week.

7. Results of soil test if applicable.
N/A

Comments (3)

• dchall_san_antonio
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Thank you for doing your homework on the questions we were sure to ask.

Lawn care is relatively simple. Water, mow, and fertilize. You do not automatically need lime, insecticide (grub control), herbicide (weed control), or fungicide (disease control).