Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shaggy98

Dense shade grass dying - not sure why

shaggy98
9 years ago

Hi there - newbie here, so be gentle :)

My basic question is: Can someone help diagnose why my grass is dying (what seems like all of a sudden)?

I live in Central Ohio and planted some dense shade grass in a heavily tree covered area (I guess because I am crazy and thought, what the hay, it might actually live). Anyway, I planted in early April and had beautiful grass (mostly fescues...I mixed a dense shade mix w/ tall fescue). So I laid down some top soil, seeded, watered incessantly, and putting down a starter fertilizer...life was good for that grass. The trees filled in and have been filled in for over a month now...Still no real problems, but I knew June/July/Aug would be tough to keep thriving. I did fertilize with a general turf builder between the April and June. I have mowed it pretty high and only taking off the top 1/3rd, etc, on a high mower setting.

Just about a week/week-a-half ago I used Scotts Step 2 Weed/Feed, then it rained the next day (great), didn't rain for a day (ok), but then rained for like a week straight (maybe oh-no). Now, I didn't know that you are not supposed to fertilize dense shade grass as often (I figured I was helping strengthen it, but I may have inadvertently hurt it).

Can anyone help me figure out why it's dying?
My suspicions are, either
a) Just the lack of sun is killing it (this would be the obvious reason, but I almost don't believe it because it did well up until recently what seems like suddenly and it get's a little sun from gaps in the tree canopy)
b) The Weed/Feed thrashed the grass - according to the bag I was ok because I had mowed it 4 times (high), but maybe I shouldn't have used it on still developing and dense shade grass
c) All this rain has encouraged disease to the sensitive, likely stressed new(er) grass