Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ikea_gw

Japanese Stiltgrass control

ikea_gw
12 years ago

I have patches of Japanese stiltgrass in my front lawn. Would any of the broadleaf weed killer be effective on this? Do you have any tips on controlling them? I did one round of corn gluten in March and it seems to have helped a little but it didn't provide completely control. The stiltgrass just appeared in the last 2 weeks so they are quite young.

Comments (12)

• Jesse
    12 years ago

if herbicides will help (I'm not experienced in whether they will treat the stiltgrass), they will help the most when the plant is young.

• nearandwest
    12 years ago

Acclaim Extra is labeled for control of Japanese Stiltgrass. If you are on cool-season grass, apply Acclaim Extra herbicide at the label rate; 2 applications applied 4 weeks apart. Get Acclaim Extra at your nearest John Deere Landscapes/Lesco store.

• botanicalbill
    12 years ago

try my link below. It says that round up and fluazifop-p-butyl work to kill and control.

Since it is a grass any 2,4-d or broad leaf killers will not work on this plant.

Here is a link that might be useful: NPS

• dchall_san_antonio
    12 years ago

Stiltgrass is a grass and will not be affected by a broadleaf weed killer. Kill it with glyphosphate (Round-Up is one brand). It will also kill your normal grass so be careful about overspray. Some overspray is inevitable. If you have Kentucky bluegrass adjacent to the stiltgrass, then the KBG will eventually fill back in. If you have fescue then you will have to reseed in the fall. You might wait until late summer to kill the stiltgrass. That way you will not have a big bare spot.

I am going to guess that the stiltgrass is in a poorly drained area. Second guess is that you are watering more often than once per week. Stiltgrass is a swamp grass and only thrives in moist soil.

• dchall_san_antonio
    12 years ago

DUDE! We must have all gotten off work at the same time!!

• botanicalbill