Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
polar993_gw

Planning to setup inflatable bounce castle on lawn - what to do??

polar993
10 years ago

Hi,

I'm a newb on this forum, but this seems like a great resource of information, and I am happy to be new member.

So hereâÂÂs my questionâ¦..I have ordered a large inflatable bouncy castle for my sonâÂÂs upcoming birthday party, and I plan to place it somewhere in my backyard on the lawn. What can I do to prevent the lawn from getting burned or damaged? The castle will probably be on the grass from 10am-6pm under hot conditions.

Last weekend I setup a large slip-n-slide on the grass to test it for my sonâÂÂs party, and it was only on the lawn for about 6 hours and the lawn is noticeably burned! I think it will recover with some heavy watering and possibly some organic fertilizer, but if any of you have other suggestions, please let me know.

Given that the slip-n-slide burned the grass so quickly, I am definitely afraid of burning or damaging the grass with the inflatable castleâ¦..though for some reason I donâÂÂt think the damage will be as bad with the castle as it was with the slip-n-slide!.....and BTW, I will NOT be using the slip-n-slide again!

Most of my lawn is predominantly Kentucky Blue (sod) and a few areas mixed with Fine Fescue in the shady areas.

Thanks!

Comments (11)

• rager_w
    10 years ago

I've had similar experiences. I think the slip-n-slide actually magnifies the sun. I have had a bounce house on my yard for 24 hours and the grass didn't brown. It sure did with the slide in much less time.

• MarioTx
    10 years ago

Wow I'm in the same situation. We are having a large inflatable water slide for my sons bday party next month. About 1 week ago my wife set up the slip n slide for my kids in the backyard which is seeded common Bermuda. Let's just say the end where the pool sits at the end of the slide pretty much killed the grass. It was only out there for about 4 hrs.

• dchall_san_antonio