Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
freyja5

How can I tell what kind of grass I have?

freyja5
14 years ago

I'm a real newbie here. I notice that most often when someone has a post, they are asked what kind of grass they have.

How would I figure this out? Our builder laid down sod five years ago, and since then I have overseeded (somewhat unsuccessfully) with Scott's brand seed (and in one shady patch, I bought from a local nursery what was simply labeled "shade grass", can't remember the brand). So, I have no idea what kind I have and I'm curious.

I am near the south west coast of BC, but in an area that gets a lot more snow than the rest of the surrounding suburbs. Incidentally, I have found that my grass dies easily if it is covered with snow for several weeks in the winter. Not sure if the remedy is related to the kind of grass, or just poor root systems, or what.

Thanks.

Comments (6)

• kevingalaxy
    14 years ago

You know what i did? I got a scotts lawn service thing through the mail, i called them up to give me an estimate - it was free - they came one day and left a report in my mail box, it listed whats wrong with my lawn, what to do to fix it, and listed all types of grass i had - was useful:) Hope that helps. Incidentally they were expensive i thought and i just maintain it myself.

• bpgreen
    14 years ago

If you can pull some of the grass out and take pictures against a white background, with something to show the size (like a coin or something) somebody may be able to ID the grass. It helps to have the roots and if there are any seed heads, include those.

In southwest BC, you're in the part that gets a lot of rain and has mild winters, right?

Does the grass fill in the bare patches when it dies in the winter?