Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laowai_gw

Sod or seed?

laowai
9 years ago

Looking for advice on what to do with my front lawn, in the attached photo.

We replaced a lead pipe last autumn, requiring the plumbers to dig up our front yard. They put it back together as best as they could, however this season the grass is not coming in as it should be. I'm a complete novice at this sort of thing so looking for advice on how to bring the lawn back to looking great!

Comments (14)

• dchall_san_antonio
    9 years ago

Where do you live?
    What kind of grass do you have now?
    How much of that shade covers the rest of the lawn?
    How have you been watering (frequency and duration)?

• laowai
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Live in Toronto, Canada.

I don't know what kind of grass it is.

The shade varies depending of time of day. There is a mature maple tree just to the left of this photo and the lawn gets full sun for about half the day, in the afternoon.

I haven't been watering consistently. Through rain or me watering via a sprinkler it gets watered about every 5 days, and for about 20 minutes at a time (other than when it's raining which would be for longer). We've had some intense sun the last few weeks as well which likely doesn't help.

• laowai
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Not sure if this helps to identify what kind of grass it is but attached is a close-up.

• dchall_san_antonio
    9 years ago

Thank you for the close up. Would you mind taking it again in the shade or when a cloud goes overhead? There's too much contrast to see the details. It looks like nutsedge just from that picture.

When you water this particular spot, does the water seem to collect and not absorb into the soil very fast? Does that happen anywhere?

• laowai
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here you go.