Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dgreen97

Brighter green patches all over my lawn

dgreen97
10 years ago

Hey everybody,

I attached a picture of what looks like brighter patches of green across my lawn. Im not sure if I put too much fertilizer down in these spots or what Im still a lawn newb. Does anybody have an idea of what this could be? I patched up a bunch of little spots around the yard and not sure why some are brighter green than others. Thanks

Comments (9)

• andy10917
    10 years ago

Inspect the lime-green grass, looking for whitish stems that crawl along the surface of the soil, and the grass acting "floppy" instead of upright. That stuff in the pictures is exhibiting many of the characteristics of Poa Trivialias, a troublesome and difficult-to-eradicate grassy weed.

• dgreen97
    Original Author
    10 years ago

thanks guys thats really odd if it is that type of grassy weed. i never had any signs of this until i planted new grass. in fact, the grass on the bottom of the picture is a 2 foot wide strip about 30 feet long that is next to my driveway. its all new grass and has a nice dark green look to it.. i used pennington sun and shade smart seed for that.

then i went around the yard looking for bare spots and planted grass seed around there too. i thought it might be because i fertilized too much or just because the grass is newer. would new grass or overfertilization give the same light green appearance as the poa? i dont understand why it would suddenly pop up in the yard now only after i planted new grass seed.

• dgreen97
    Original Author
    10 years ago

the other reason i think this is because the lighter lime green grass is only popping up where i fixed bare spots, which for me might indicate its just immature grass. im going to examine the grass leaves tomorrow to see but i guess my question is can immature grass you just planted have this lime green color as well? i think its all over my yard because i did a ton of barespot fixes.