Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
srgunmas

Compost tea in sprinkler system

srgunmas
10 years ago

I have been practicing organic lawn care for a few years now with awesome results. And, as many males understand, there is always some tinkering to do with any project we pick up.

My latest "thought" is to investigate the possibility of using my underground sprinkler system to apply compost tea...

The thought started with some applications I saw with syphon brass fitting you put on you spicket that would syphon from a 5 gallon bucket of tea and apply through manual sprinklers.

I was thinking of trying to utilize a similar set up using the valve that you would connect to blow out your sprinklers for the winter.

I have also begun reading a little about CU developing their own compost tea brew setup and running it through the campus' sprinklers. That system, while awesome, would be a little more work for the average enthusiast, but definitely something to study.

Does anyone have any information they can post, or links that would be helpful in this matter?

Comments (5)

• dchall_san_antonio
    10 years ago

Since you have been organic for awhile I don't think you are going to see any benefit to compost tea. At least I didn't. Once you get all the microbe populations churning in the soil, adding more microbes from compost tea doesn't help. ...and especially with tea brewed in the summer heat. Water above 75 degrees F barely holds enough oxygen to support life. Since the entire purpose of compost tea is to multiply the number of microbes in the tea, warm tea is a waste of effort.

But I like your idea of adding nutrients through the sprinkler. The other problem with compost tea is getting it filtered enough to not clog the nozzles.

• srgunmas
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I suppose I should have mentioned something before too.... :P

We actually recently moved to a new house, so the entire organic process will need to start over for me again.