Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
henrikpfluger

New St Augustine Sod turning brown

henrikpfluger
10 years ago

I am new to this forum searching for help with my new St. Augustine sod. I am a rookie when it comes to gardening, so please bear with me ;-)

I put new St. Augustine sod in my garden (myself) about 3 to 4 weeks ago. Unfortunately the sod started to turn brown in the last 1 or 2 weeks.

I was watering for 10 minutes every night the first two weeks and then every other day. We had very heavy rains nearly every day during the first two weeks.

After reading a little bit through this forum I assume I didn't water enough? Can I still recover it? What can I do?

Comments (37)

• ronalawn82
    10 years ago

pfluger, I was watering for 10 minutes every night the first two weeks and then every other day. We had very heavy rains nearly every day during the first two weeks.
    That certainly sounds like adequate watering.
    The reason why freshly laid sod is watered for a very short time, every day, is because all the roots are contained in the sod piece which can hold and use only so much water.
    The objective at first is to keep those roots alive and growing down towards the soil. The soil surface beneath the sod is kept damp to facilitate the sod roots "knitting" to the soil.
    It appears that the grass is suffering (or recovering) from a rot associated with too much watering. Try to lift pieces of sod at random to judge if this knitting is underway. At the same time you can check the soil below to ascertain that it is damp enough to encourage rooting or perhaps too wet. If you can see white rootlets from the underside of the sod, that would be a good sign. If you see a lot of brown root(let)s, that would indicate too much watering.