Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jordanz_gw

Is Tall Fescue & Bermuda Grass good choice for Mojave Desert?

jordanz
13 years ago

I planted tall fescue seed in the backyard back in April, then I threw in some bermuda grass seed back in May in the areas that didn't grow in as well. It was all doing pretty good until the heat kicked in. It will be 100+ deg from June-August here.

I water it two times a day, for 10 minutes at 7am, and 10 minutes at 8pm. Is that enough water? I have several areas where the grass has just started to die for no reason, and some areas turning brown. I have very heavy clay soil, but I dug it all up and mixed in a lot of compost/top soil when planting the seed. I mow it once a week, at about 2" tall.

What else can I do for the lawn? Should I fertilize it now, or wait till Labor Day? When should I use an airater (sp?) on it? I'll try to get some pictures loaded up tomorrow.

Comments (14)

• dledeaux
    13 years ago

I'm pretty new to lawn keeping, but I don't believe Fescue is even recommended for the southern most states, including southern California.

• auteck
    13 years ago

Stop watering at night. How cool (if any) does it get at night in there?

• tiemco
    13 years ago

That certainly doesn't sound like enough water in your climate. I would probably do a ten minute watering midday to cool off the grass and soil, and do a long watering, half inch of water, before sunrise every few days. I am not sure this is possible where you live due to water restrictions.

• john_in_sc
    13 years ago

Mojave desert.... I am guessing that is a tough climate -- Hot summers and Cold winters...

How's water availability? Any risk of water restrictions from you municipality?