Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jtmla

Zoysia lawn not doing well

jtmla
11 years ago

I am totally new to lawn maintenance. I live in Los Angeles and recently put in a Zoysia lawn from sod in March. Most of the sod seemed to take root okay and the lines between the sod disappeared. It is now June and there seems to be a lot of brown areas. The lawn is getting more brown as time goes on, rather than more green, which has me concerned that it is not doing well. The lawn is fairly shaded during some parts of the day, and gets direct sunlight for part of the day. I have a sprinkler system and right now I am watering it 3 mornings a week for 10 mins. Not sure if this is correct or not (it's what my gardener advised me, but not sure he's much of a Zoysia expert). I would really appreciate any advise to get this lawn looking healthy and green.

Here's a picture of the lawn:

http://picpaste.com/photo-ptU9kR9C.jpg

Thanks!

Comments (8)

• dchall_san_antonio
    11 years ago

If you have that much shade most of the day, there are only two varieties of zoysia that might survive. At least one of those does not come in sod and it is unlikely you have the other one. If you have any control over the shade, it would help your lawn to trim the trees. Otherwise you will be limited to unconventional ground covers (not a lawn) or one of two grasses. Some of the fescues or St Augustine can enjoy limited success in shade like you have.

99% of the people who write in from LA do not live in LA. Can you please be more specific? If you do live in LA, please give the neighborhood but you likely live in a suburb.