Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nitin_kakkar_gw

New Sod lawn dying

nitin_kakkar
13 years ago

Hello,

I have a small 1200sft backyard lawn. I put new SOD lawn in februry 2010 with bolero plus (Dwarf Fescue + 5% blue grass). The lawn came up fine till April and then grass started turing brown.

Naively I put in scotts turf builder #2 & then ironite (1 whole 20lbs bag!!) probably I put too much of these. Now in 2 months grass is turing brown there are some dead patches.

I am wondering if any one can please advice what can i do for spreading brown patches, will this parch ever become green again or is it gone for good?

Needless to say I am new to gardening & love to work in my lawn, but i dont know what to do.

Thanks

Nitin

Comments (4)

• chesapeakebeach
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

You probably will have to learn this one the hard way. There's no way to undo the effects of the fertilizer, etc. at this point.

Keep the remaining grass well watered so the sod continues to root well. Then wait until fall, put down seed in the bare spots, cover it with top soil, and water it well for a couple weeks (you cannot plant grass seed at this point of the summer, especially in a hot climate). Hopefully by next spring after the seed has had a chance to germinate all winter, the damage will not be so visible. At least the grass seed will have a good base in which to grow consisting of the dirt from the dead sod.

How did you prepare the ground before you put the sod down? Was it nearly smooth? Or were there rocks, twigs, etc.?

How did you apply the fertilizer? I hope it was with a spreader (one with wheels) with the correct setting and not with a hand spreader or just by throwing it.

• getfacsw
    13 years ago

I agree, but I wouldn't put dirt on top of the grass seed.
    I would put a thin layer (about 1/4") compost or something like that. Putting too much dirt will make the lawn uneven and bumpy.

Bill

• ironbob
    13 years ago