Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amoncur_gw

Pre Emergent Plan - Help

amoncur
9 years ago

Hi All,

I'm still a bit new to lawn care that requires more than just setting a sprinkler timer, and was hoping I could get some feedback on my Fall plan of attack.

I live in Arizona and have a lawn around 2500 sq ft. Right now it is mostly crabgrass, with some Bermuda. In the spring I noticed quite a lot of poa annua, as well, and that is the primary target of my plan of attack.

I understand poa annua can be eliminated by use of a pre-emergent. I've read about Halt, Barricade, Dimension and Amaze (and there are probably others?) but am not really sure which I should use, or if it matters much which I use. Any recommendations?

My plan is to overseed in the Fall...October is usually when that is done here in AZ. I will be overseeding with rye grass. At what point do I put down the pre-emergent? Should I scalp the lawn first, then put down the pre-emergent? How long after the pre-m goes down until I can overseed with the rye? Any other special considerations to be aware of?

Comments (15)

• morpheuspa (6B/7A, E. PA)
    9 years ago

Which one you use is pretty much up to you--those that are listed as suppressing grasses are the ones that will work on P. annua (which is most of them).

How long to wait after use for seeding is going to vary widely. With Dimension, it could be as short as a month or as long as three. With Prodiamine (Barricade), it could be as short as two months....or as long as a year.

So if you're overseeding in fall, it's pretty much already too late to use a pre-emergent this year--except Tupersan, which can be used with some grasses (I'm not sure about rye), and Tenacity, which suppresses out P. annua and P. trivialis to a point for about a month after application.

The easy rule is, if seeding, use Tenacity or Tupersan. If not seeding, use whatever you want.