Return to the Lawn Care Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to treat for grubs/japanese beetle with no toxic poisons

Posted by fpmom none (My Page) on
Mon, Jul 8, 13 at 10:03

I'm new to growing/maintaining lawn and while I am enjoying the process I am getting frustrated trying to work out all the problems and how to fix them
We have 2 dogs and 2 small children and so I would prefer to maintain the lawn organically or at least with the safest least toxic products
I'm wondering if any body can advise how to treat for grubs/japanese beetle without putting down the really toxic stuff that wipes out everything including all the good worms etc (and if I did do this how long before kids/dogs could walk on the lawn?)
My understanding is that the grubs are going to start eating up the grass roots again come end July/beg August through September (we live in New England FYI) - and I would like to kill off the grubs before they kill off my grass again (happened in Spring this year - I got a lot of brown patches in June)
What can I apply that is not completely toxic? Any low grade grub killer out there (not that I could find via research)
I plan to start up a milky spore regime but need something to work during the 2 years I need to wait for that to work
Has anybody tried and had success with beneficial nematodes?
Thanks for any advice - I'm new to this but keen!!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to treat for grubs/japanese beetle with no toxic poisons

Use milky spore. It infects the grubs. It is safe for lawns and will stay active in your soil for years.

Here is a link that might be useful: milky spore

o

botanicalbill I intend to start using the milky spore but I have read and been told that it won't start working for 2 years and in the meantime my lawn will be eaten up! How did you start a resume with milky spore and what is your experience?

o